Life Without a Spleen

“No more normal life,” is the last thing I said to my doctor when she asked me to describe my daily activity. I don’t have a spleen. I don’t have a lot of things, a spleen being one of them. “Asplenic: Administer Broad Spectrum Antibiotics” is what my medical bracelet says. I run to Sloan-Kettering Urgent Care when I spike a fever. They take blood cultures and nasal swabs and give me antibiotics quickly. I’m grateful. I get sick easy. With no spleen, and a system exhausted by chemo and radiation and cell proliferation… My body is like a city always on code alert. Cops in riot gear always in the street. I don’t know if I’ve gotten used to the anarchy. Cancer is part of my nature. I’ve come to accept that.

About Annie Rachele Lanzillotto

www.annielanzillotto.com www.lisforlion.com Author of "L is for Lion: An Italian Bronx Butch Freedom Memoir" SUNY Press 2013, and "Schistsong" Bordighera Press 2013 Currently narrating / recording my audiobooks at The Loft studios in Bronxville, New York. If you'd like to contribute to help audiobook production, contact me: lanzillotto@gmail.com. Spread the Bronx accent far and wide, to listeners, to those for whom reading a book is impossible or arduous...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Without a Spleen

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

